Sunsets too bright to be believed

Tricky things, photographs of sunsets. I see these amazing skies, and take lots of photographs. When I look at the resulting pictures, they seem unreal, almost unnatural, the colours too brilliant to be right, unbalanced by the intense gleam of the sun.

I prefer sunsets with colour but no actual sun visible. We had one like that yesterday, with reds and blacks shading upwards to blues and greys:

A little earlier, some geese flew across a bright yellow sky. The result was…too bright and too yellow. I preferred it in black and white.

 

About Chris Dale

Retired, and now mainly occupied in taking new photographs and editing old ones.
This entry was posted in Oxford, Port Meadow. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunsets too bright to be believed

  1. juliansummerhayes says:

    I love the B&W photo. Simply stunning.

Leave a comment