Reviving my personal blog – again

This is an attempt to revive a personal blog – strictly, three personal blogs, the oldest of which dates back to 2007, and which I have now merged. The last post was written just over a year ago, a photographic review of 2014.

One of the old blogs dealt exclusively with matters relating to Oxford; one covered wider things arising from politics, the defects of public servants and the antics of shyster companies. The third, much later and only briefly, was intended to display photographs and to describe them.

They were abandoned mainly because I lacked the time to do it properly. I blog for a living or, rather, writing a blog is the primary output of my business. If I am in my office I sometimes write thousands of words a week anyway; if I am abroad, as I often am, I write almost nothing, even for work.

I turned to Twitter instead. 40,000 tweets over nine years is 2,500 tweets per year or up to 350,000 characters. That would have created a lot of blog posts but not given me the pleasure and the connections which I have got from Twitter.

I will do two things differently. My earlier blog posts were nearly all critical or tendentious; perhaps it is Twitter which has shown me that it is more interesting to balance adverse criticism with things which inspire, lashing out at politicians or pen-pushers one day and praising a book, a restaurant or a view the next.

The other change is that not all blog posts have to be carefully-constructed literary works developing an argument from beginning, through the middle and to the end. There may be some of those, but a link to a song, a photograph of my dog, or a quick comment on a news item is enough to fix it in my memory.

And that, by the way, is the main purpose. I am writing this for me, and if it attracts a wider audience I will be pleased.

I don’t claim to be interesting but I am interested in a lot of things, whether those which fly by on Twitter or those which I come across at home in Oxford or on my travels. I am lucky enough to go to attractive places both at home and abroad and so get the opportunity to photograph them; some of the results may appear here in among the words.

The picture which is the header (at the time of writing) is of birds flying over Port Meadow in Oxford. I can see the Meadow from my front door; how lucky is that?

Home

About Chris Dale

I have been an English solicitor since 1980. I run the e-Disclosure Information Project which collects and comments on information about electronic disclosure / eDiscovery and related subjects in the UK, the US, AsiaPac and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

